Day 5, 6, and 7

It’s been pretty quiet here in Chez Good Mother. We’ve run errands, cleaned the house, put up holiday decorations. We’ve taken lots of naps and burned through loads and loads of cloth diapers. Yesterday, The Baby and I hung out in the bookstore. The day before, we took naps together on the big bed while we watched Labyrinth (“You remind me of the babe.” “What babe?” “The babe with the power.”) and sorted out warm and cold weather clothes.

Our big task right now is trying to get all the “stuff” in the house tidied away because The Grandma has treated The Mommy to some professional house cleaning services. Next week, a maid service is coming to give the house a detailed cleaning. Now, I got pregnant last December. A week after I found out I was pregnant, I got bronchitis and was sick for almost three months. Two weeks after recovering from my cold, I went into the hospital with what turned out to be a scar tissue adhesion in my small intestine. Two days after coming home from three weeks in the hospital, I went back into the hospital for a week to have a cerclage placed. That marked the start of my month of bedrest, then The Baby was born and we started our seven weeks in the NICU. My mother cleaned the house when she visited and The Daddy did an excellent job trying to stay on top of it, but things slip by and add up and it’s been a full year since I last really and truly cleaned my own house. I tried to tackle it a few weeks ago, but it took me three days just to get the oven clean, what with The Baby thinking she needs attention from time to time and that was WITH The Daddy home. I am SO looking forward to having the house scrubbed!! Clean windows! Clean cabinet fronts! No dust on the door frames! No sticky greasy gunk on the oven hood! I can’t wait. It will be a little weird to sit here and watch someone else clean, but I think I can live with that. šŸ˜‰

So this has been a pretty decent week, all in all. I’m still not a big fan of this whole having to get up early to try to fit in shower/breakfast/pumping/hanging clothes on the line before The Daddy leaves for work. I do like watching them play in the mornings while he tries to get enough giggles to carry him through the day. Nothing is too silly for him to do if it makes her giggle. We’re close to having our routine all worked out.

I’m thinking about attempting taking The Baby to the movies one morning because I REALLY want to see Harry Potter. I can’t find any information about theaters offering specific Mommy and Baby showings. I figure a middle of the week morning movie isn’t going to have a crowd who would be bothered by The Baby if she gets a little chatty. I think, if I time it for right after a bottle, I can have her tucked in her car seat and she’ll sleep through the whole thing. Does anyone have advice? I’m assuming an infant gets in free.

OK, I’m off. Going to try to get in a few minutes of tummy time before we take the car to the car wash. Whee!

One response to “Day 5, 6, and 7

  1. If she sleeps in the carseat you might be able to swing it.
    My babe us nine months now so no way would it work.
    I wonder if they let you have a bottle in there?
    I wouldn’t put it past the theatre since you can’t bring water. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

